Cliffs Notes to Megan

Feminist Love TBTNI’m Megan and I’m the new coordinator for the Women’s Center. While an opening blog post will of course be insufficient in exploring how my feminist politics have been informed by my history and identity, I do hope this introduction will offer a little insight into how and why I approach my work at the Center the way I do.

Growing up I was very much an “I’m not a feminist, but [insert feminist politics here]” type of person. Like so many others, I came to feminism through Women’s Studies, where the readings and class discussions led to many small “click” moments and helped me find the language to describe the sexist, racist, and heterosexist microaggressions I’d experienced.

My time spent in the university’s Women’s Center introduced me to the campus feminist activist organization and my involvement with the group was critical in transforming my political outlook. By planning events and participating in a safe space for consciousness-raising among an incredibly diverse and passionate group of women, this initiation to social justice activism got me thinking more about translating theory into praxis. I’d been regarding feminism as something static to theorize in the abstract, as a political ideology to believe in and an identity to claim. Finally I started focusing on the meaning of advocating and doing feminism.

This more dynamic approach of doing feminism has remained central to my politics. I became more self-reflexive and contemplative in examining how dedication to feminist activism manifests differently for people. While I reject the apolitical simplicity of “choice feminism,” I’ve also come to value the complexity of feminisms rather than a singular Feminism.

I’m glad that the Women’s Center is moving toward a timely and interactive blog format. Although my academic education in women’s and gender studies has been fantastic, I can say without a doubt that my politics have evolved much more as a result of my own compulsive blog reading. While online feminism is often dismissed as “slacktivism,” I’m indebted to the many feminist blogs that have helped me to engage with topics and perspectives that I’d have never encountered in the classroom. With the Center now offering virtual space in addition to our physical space for ongoing conversations about women and feminism to unfold, I hope that this blog will provide another opportunity for our community to become and stay involved. I know I have much more to say and I’m looking forward to hearing from other Women’s Center community members as well.

Leave a Reply

